Rita C. Davidson Award

This Award was established in 1985 to honor individuals who have contributed to the integrity of the legal profession, advanced the interests of women engaged in the practice of law, promoted legal education, aided in the administration of justice, and advanced the status of women in society and the legal profession. The Award is the highest honor of our organization and is named for the late Honorable Rita C. Davidson, a long-time WBA member who was the first Award recipient.

To nominate an individual for the Rita C. Davidson Award / To recommend an individual for the Rita C. Davidson Award, please contact us.

Rita C. Davidson Award Recipients:

Justice Michele D. Hotten 2023
The Honorable Angela M. Eaves 2022
Adrienne A. Jones 2019
Yun Jung Yang 2018
Michelle Daugherty Siri 2018
The Honorable Shirley M. Watts 2017
Madam Secretary Madeleine Albright (watch the video) 2016
Sheila Sachs 2015
Angela D. Alsobrooks 2014
The Honorable Louise G. Scrivener 2014
Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg (watch the video) 2013
Governor Martin O'Malley 2012
The Honorable Catherine Curran O'Malley 2012
The Honorable Mary Ellen Barbera 2011
The Honorable Kathleen M. Dumais 2010
The Honorable Ellen Lipton Hollander 2010
The Honorable Toni Evon Clarke 2009
The Honorable Cynthia S. Miraglia 2009
The Honorable Lynne A. Battaglia 2008
The Honorable Ann Newman Sundt 2007
The Honorable Kathleen O'Ferrall Friedman 2007
Marion Wright Edleman 2006
Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor 2005
The Honorable Deborah K. Chasanow 2004
Susan L Bayly 2003
The Honorable Ann S. Harrington 2002
Chief Judge Robert E. Bell 2001
Pamela J. White 2000
The Honorable Sally D. Adkins 1999
The Honorable Mabel E. Houze Hubbard 1999
The Honorable Sharon M. Grosfeld 1998
The Honorable Diane G. Motz 1997
Governor Parris Glendening 1996
The Honorable Irma Raker 1995
The Honorable Barabara Kerr Howe 1994
The Honorable Theresa Nolan 1993
Chief Judge Robert C. Murphy 1992
The Honorable Mary Arabian 1991
The Honorable Mary Ellen Rinehardt 1990
The Honorable Bess Lavine 1989
The Honorable Rosalyn B. Bell 1988
The Honorable Martha Wyatt 1987
Jeannette Wolman 1986
Rita C. Davidson 1985